Sri Lankan parliament begins voting for new president

Sri Lanka’s parliament on Wednesday began the election for a new president to replace Gotabaya Rajapaksa, who fled the country and resigned last week.

The parliament’s secretary-general, Dhammika Dasanayake, rang the quorum bell to signal the start of the secret ballot vote in which 225 legislators will choose between three candidates for head of state of the crisis-wracked country.

You might also like