Five OCs relieved from polls duties

The Election Commission has withdrawn five officers-in-charge for their alleged favouritism during second phase of Upazila Parishad elections.

The OCs of Kulaura Police Station in Moulvibazar, Birganj in Dinajpur, Shibganj in Bogura, Manda in Naogaon and Alikadam in Bandraban have been relieved of election duties.

According to EC sources, superintendent of police in the relevant districts have been assigned election duties in these areas.

Voting has begun at 8am and will continue till 4pm at 116 Upazilas of 15 districts in the second phase on Monday.

Most of the opposition parties including BNP have boycotted the Upazila Parishad elections.

You might also like