Templates by BIGtheme NET
Home / lead news / AL announces names of chairman candidates for 2nd phase UZ polls

AL announces names of chairman candidates for 2nd phase UZ polls

The ruling Awami League on Sunday announced the names of chairman candidates for the second phase of upazila parishad polls.

The second phase election will be held in 122 upazilas on March 18.

AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced the names at a press conference at the party President Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi political office on Sunday noon.

Earlier on Friday, party President and PM Sheikh Hasina finalized the names in a joint meeting of AL Parliamentary Board and its Local Government Nomination board.

Following the meeting, AL announced the names of 87 chairman aspirants who want to contest the first-phase upazila elections to be held on March 10.

On February 4, Awami League started selling nomination papers to those who want to contest the upazila elections.

The Election Commission on February 3 announced that the fifth upazila parishad polls would be held in five phases.

The election to 87 upazila parishads in 12 districts under Rangpur, Mymensingh, Sylhet and Rajshahi divisions will be held in the first phase on March 10.

The second phase of the election is slated for March 18, the third for March 24, the fourth for March 31 and the fifth for June 18.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *