Templates by BIGtheme NET
Home / lead news / PM opens 6 power plants, 9 grid substations

PM opens 6 power plants, 9 grid substations

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Wednesday inaugurated six power plants and nine grid substations through a videoconferencing from her Ganabhaban office.

These power plants and grid substations have added as much as 1062 megawatts (MWs) of electricity to the country’s national grid.

The six power plants are – Sirajganj 282MW Simple Cycle Power Plant, Bhola 225MW Combined Cycle Power Plant, Chandpur 200MW Power Plant, Ashuganj 150MW Power Plant, Rupsha in Khulna 105MW Power Plant, Julda in Chattogram 100MW Power Plant (3rd unit).

The premier also opened the power supply to Sandwip upazila in Chattogram through submarine cable, the first of its kind in the country, and cent percent electrification in 12 upazilas.

The nine grid substations are Ramganj, Barishal (North), Baroiyerhat, Shikalbaha, Jaldhaka, Sunamganj, Bianibazar, Rangamati and Matarbari.

The 12 upazilas which came under cent percent power coverage are Harinakundu, Thakurgaon Sadar, Baliadangi, Goalanda, Kalukhali, Bamna, Lakhai, Shaistaganj, Ajmiriganj, Bahubal, Melandah and Islampur.

A total of 306 upazilas have so far been brought under cent percent electricity coverage, according to officials of the power ministry.

Of them, cent percent electrification was inaugurated in 263 upazilas, while it will be launched in the rest of 43 upazilas by June this year, the officials said.

PM’s Energy Adviser Dr Towfik-e-Elahi Chowdhury, State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid Bipu spoke at the function.

Former ministers and Awami League senior leaders Tofail Ahmed and Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, former state minister Mirza Azam, ex-deputy minister Abdullah Islam Al Jakob and parliament members of the concerned areas were also present there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *