Templates by BIGtheme NET
Home / NRB News / London Bangla Press Club election: Emdadul Haque Chowdhury elected as President, Muhammod Jubair Secretary and ASM Masum as Treasurer

London Bangla Press Club election: Emdadul Haque Chowdhury elected as President, Muhammod Jubair Secretary and ASM Masum as Treasurer

Rashed Belal :

Editor of Shaptahik Potrika Mohammod Emdadul Haque Chowdhury has been elected as the new President of London Bangla Press Club.  Chief Reporter of Channel S Muhammod Jubair and Bureau Chief of Bangladesh Protidin ASM Masum have been elected as Secretary and Treasurer respectively for the second consecutive time.

The election and Annual General Meeting took place in Impression venue on Sunday 27th March.  Club members across the UK took part in the election.  A number of community leaders and notable personalities from the community were also present at the event.

Emad-Jubaer-Murad Panel won  10 posts out of 15 including President, Secretary and Vice-president. Rival Tem Nahash won five posts which included the Treasurer post. For the first time in the  club history, President and Secretary were elected from the same panel.

Three members election commission conducted the election.  Bajloor Rashid MBE acted as Chief Election Commissioner. Chairman o f SSBA Aziz Chowdhury and Barrister Anwar Babul Miah collaborated as Commissioners.

Vote casting started at 2.30pm and continued until 6.00pm.  The result was declared at 11.00pm.

The newly elected President Mohammod Emdadul Haque Chowdhury expressed his gratitude to everyone and emphasised that he would keep up all the good works of LBPC and move the club forward towards prosperity.

Outgoing President Syed Nahash Pasha congratulated the newly elected leaders and expressed his sincere hope that the newly elected committee will take club to more affluence and everyone should work together with the newly elected committee to achieve that.

Others who congratulated the newly elected committee included Press Minister of Bangladesh High Commission in London Ashequn nobi Chowdhury, Executive Mayor of Tower Hamlets John Biggs, Bangladesh Caterer’s Association, British Bangla Chamber of Commerce, Sylhet Press Club, Bangladesh Centre, Greater Sylhet Council and other organisations.

Details result of the election:

Mohammod Emdadul Haque Chowdhury won the post as President receiving 163 votes. His nearest candidate Syed Nahash Pasha received 151 votes.

Barrister Tareq Chowdhury as Vice-president receiving 184 votes, his nearest contender Abdus Sattar received 125 votes.

Muhammod Jubair as General Secretary receiving 192 votes, his nearest contender Anisur Rahman Anis received 113 votes.

Muhanmmod Masum was re-elected as the Treasurer receiving 200 votes, his nearest contender Abdul Qader Chowdhury Murad received 107 votes.

Matiur Rahman Chowdhury was elected as Assistant Secretary receiving 178 votes, his nearest contender Mohammod Subhan received 125 votes.

M A Qayum was elected as Communication Secretary receiving 164 votes, Ibrahim Khalil as Training and Research Secretary receiving 155 votes, Saleh Ahmed as Information and Technology Secretary receiving 180 votes, Rejaul Karim Mridha as Events and Facilities Secretary receiving 171 votes.

Executive members who were elected are News Editor of Shaptahiq Surma Abdul Qayum reveiving 191 votes, News Presenter of Channel S Rupi Amin receiving 165 votes, Md Emran Ahmed of Janomot 157 votes, Poly Rahman 157 votes, Mohammod Nazmul Hossain 156 votes and Shahnaz Sultana 147 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *