Templates by BIGtheme NET
Home / lead news / Sheikh Hasina drops AL allies in new cabinet

Sheikh Hasina drops AL allies in new cabinet

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has not picked any MPs from the Awami League’s allied parties for her new cabinet.

The AL won a landslide victory in the 11th general election and is going to form the government for a third consecutive term.

It is Hasina’s fourth term as prime minister.

The party formed its first government under the leadership of Hasina in 1996. Hasina included the Jatiya Party’s Anwar Hossain Manju and JaSaD’s ASM Abdur Rab in her cabinet at the time.

This is the first time Hasina has formed a cabinet exclusively with the members of her own party.

The 47-member cabinet was announced on Sunday.

Ministers have changed at 18 ministries. The departures include Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu, Social Welfare Minister Rashed Khan Menon and Water Resources Minister Jatiya Party’s Anwar Hossain Manju.

Jatiya Party members such as Environment, Forest and Climate Change Minister Anisul Islam Mahmud, State Minister for Local Government Mashiur Rahman Ranga and State Minister for Labour Mujibul Haque Chunnu have also been left out.

Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad had said last Thursday that none of the party’s members of parliament would be on the cabinet and would instead form the main opposition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *