Templates by BIGtheme NET
Home / Sports / Bangladesh A draw 2-2 with Ireland A

Bangladesh A draw 2-2 with Ireland A

Balbirnie’s 160* boosts host’s 8-wkt victory in 5th game

Bangladesh A draw 2-2 with Ireland A

Dhaka, Aug 10 : Bangladesh ‘A’ conceded an eight-wicket defeat against host Ireland ‘A’ in the series decider fifth unofficial ODI at Clontarf Cricket Club Ground in Dublin on Friday to see a evenly-contested 2-2 draw.
The first match of the series was washed-out due to rain at Oak Hill Cricket Club before Bangladesh ‘A’ took the lead with an 87-run win in the second game.
Ireland ‘A’ got a 34-run victory in the third game to level the series while Bangladesh ‘A’ made the fifth match as decider, having an emphatic 85-run win in the fourth game where visiting side captain Mominul Haque’s 182 of 133-ball to post the series highest total of386/4 and the bowlers restricted Ireland at 301/10.
On the final day, Andrew Balbirnie hit unbeaten century of 144-balls 160*, including 18 boundaries and two sixes, on the way home victory with a score of 285 for 2 in 46.4 overs as Bangladesh posted 283 for 8 in 50 overs, opting bat after winning the toss.
Balbirnie’s two partnership innings in the game carried out of 253 off 41.3 overs as he shared a 197 off 34.2 overs with Andy McBrine in the 2nd wicket before a quick unbeaten of 56 off 7.1 overs Simi Singh in the 3rd wicket.
Andy McBrine [89 off 103b; 9×4] was removed from the 2nd wicket on 229/2 in 39.3 overs as he was caught by Zakir Hasan off Sunzamul Islam, starting after the dismissal of opener James Shannon on 32/1 in 5.1 overs.
Shariful Islam (1/45) and Sunzamul Islam (1/56) were the wicket takers for Bangladesh.
Irish pace bowler Peter Chase (5/42) was the main destroyer in Bangladesh innings where Fazle Mahmud [74 off 63b; 7×4] and wicketkeeper batsman Mohammad Mithun [run-a-ball-73; 9×4] could cross fifty runs marks and both shared 76 off 11.3 overs in the 5th wicket to reach the team total to a 200 in 39.2 overs.
Fazle Mahmud and Mithun started from 124/4 in 27.5 overs after the dismissal of another notable scorer Mominul [46 off 62b; 2×4; 1×6].
Number-7 batsman Al-Amin [22], opener Mizanur Rahman [20], Nazmul Hossain Shanto [15] and Zakir Hasan [10] were the other double digit scorers for Bangladesh.
Graham Kennedy (1/45), Simi Singh (1/43) and Jonathan Garth (1/54) equally shared three wickets for the winners.
Both sides will play a three-match unofficial T20I series, starting on August 13.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *