Templates by BIGtheme NET
Home / Sports / Australia need 184 to become world champion

Australia need 184 to become world champion

One of the co-hosts Australia need to score 184 from 50 overs to win the title for the fifth time as the other co-hosts New Zealand were bundled out for just 183 in the final match of ICC world cup 2015 at Merlbourne cricket ground on Sunday.

Tim Southe was run out on the last ball of 45th over as a direct throw of Maxwell from mid on broke the stump while the batsman was casual returning to the crease. That also symbolises the lackluster batting performance of the side which decided to bat first after won the toss.

Grant Elliott, the semifinal hero of New Zealand tried to salvage his side in the final, but despite his brilliant 83-run inning of just 82 balls does not seem to be enough as they reached 182 for the loss of nine wickets after 44.5 overs .

Elliott was the  victim of the Australian bowler as he was caught behind by Wicket keeper Haddin in the bowling of James Faulkner who picked his third scalp before Henry became the third victim of his fellow paceman Johnson for a duck  and the 9th wicket was gone for New Zealand.

Veteran New Zealand allrounder Daniel Vettori was clean bowled in the bowling of Mitchell Johnson as his team total reached 167 for the loss of 7 wickets after 41 overs.

He tried to build up a partnership after a mini collapse intrumented by Australian medium pacer James Faulkner, who picked up a couple of wickets in the 36th over, the first over of batting powerplay to peg back the New Zealand side who were recovering well before that.

To made things worst for the black caps, Mitchel Stark picked up Luke Ronchi as he snicked one to Michael Clarke at first slip.

Ross Taylor has been caught behind the wicket by diving Brad Hadin in the bowling of Faulkner after he scored 40 off 72 balls. That was the fourth wicket of the innings.

Corey Anderson was clean bowled in the space of a delivery at the same team total of 150. The Kiwi southpaw however, did not bother the scorers just like Ronchi.

Taylor and Grant Elliott have made a 111-run partnership  after New Zealand’s top-order came a cropper in the face of an inspired Australian attack in the ICC Cricket World Cup final at Melbourne.

Black caps were in deep trouble with the score of 3-39 at the thirteenth over when they lost depandable Williamson for just 12 as he was caught by Johnson off his own bowling.

New Zealand was on 150 for the loss of 4 wickets afrer 35.1 overs till updating the report.

 It all started when Kiwi skipper Brendon McCullum was bowled for a duck in the first over of the New Zealand innings.

Australian bowler Mitchell Starc dismissed the Black Caps captain when the team score was only 2.

His opening partner, the higherst scorer of the tournament Martin Guptill was also out cheaply as he was bowled in the bowling of off-spinner Glen Maxwell.

Gaptill, who scored just 15 has surpassed the total number of runs scored by Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka.

The stylish right handed batsman who also scored the highest ever individual score in a match of World cup history, 237 against West Indies in the quarter-finlas has gone on to socre 547 runs in this tournament, six better than the Sril Lankan maestro.

‘It (the build-up) has been great, tremendous semi-final and it’s been a great World Cup for us so far,” McCullum said in a pitchside interview.

Australia captain Michael Clarke, who will retire from one-day internationals after the final, said he would also have preferred his team to bat first on a glorious autumn’s day in Melbourne.

“But the wicket looks fantastic so I don’t think it matters much,” he said. “I’ve told the guys to continue to play good, consistent cricket.

The trans-Tasman rivals have played some extraordinary cricket right throughout the flagship event and the final could not have asked for better teams.

While Australia have only been beaten once en route to the final, New Zealand have remained unbeaten having won all their eight matches including one group stage match against the Kangaroos.


Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steven Smith, Michael Clarke(c), Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin(w), James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand (Playing XI): Brendon McCullum(c), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi(w), Daniel Vettori, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *